My fave Chocolate Cake recipe & Where I found it

I’m just going to give you the links to the recipes. I hope that’s alright. I had a tooth pulled this morning, so I’m pretty beat, tbh. I found this website at least 10 years ago, when it was still run by the original owner. The new owner is a lot more artsy-fartsy than I am. In general, I look at squash and gourds (like pumpkins) as savory, but not necessarily soup makings. The old recipes on there are the BEST I have ever found. They are, primarily, out of the South, and very sensible, both fiscally and nutritionally. The original owner had family members who were diagnosed with some serious food allergies & sensitivities, so her current website has great recipes for Gluten Free, Dairy Free, and a few other dietary restriction categories. For cakes, though? Her Chocolate Oatmeal Cake totally rocks! You can make it in a 9×13 pan, or in a 15×10 jelly roll pan (goes further, not quite so much cake per serving, which, for a REALLY rich cake is a good option, imo). The recipe for frosting that accompanies the cake is awe inspiring: You can put it on the cake while the cake is still warm! This makes the cake excellent for unexpected company, with short notice. For the best Chocolate Oatmeal Cake you’ll ever eat (goes great at potlucks, too): http://www.hillbillyhousewife.com/chocolateoatmealcake.htm

Use this cooked frosting (incredibly easy, and uses granulated sugar!): http://www.hillbillyhousewife.com/glossyfrosting.htm

My eleven-year-old daughter has developed a big reputation as baker already with this recipe for 1-2-3-4 Cake: http://www.hillbillyhousewife.com/1234cake.htm

Leave a Reply

