Why does 3-Bean Salad have 4 beans? I don’t know, but it is SO tasty!

My oldest (dd#1) called me this morning, to ask for my recipe for 3-bean Salad, which is actually my mom’s recipe, and possibly HER mother’s recipe, to boot). Not only did I give it to her with a smile (I can remember when she wouldn’t touch it, as a child), but it sounds so good that now *I* must make it, too. I thought I’d share the recipe with y’all:

1 can green beans

1 can yellow wax beans

1 can red kidney beans (are there other colors? really?)

1 can Garbanzo beans (cici beans)

1 small green bell pepper, finely diced

1 smallish onion, finely diced

Drain the liquid from the beans, and pour them all into a bowl (or a zip lock bag, which I like doing. That way, this fits in your fridge, just about any which way.)

Next, you mix, in a fairly deep bowl (room for whisking):

3/4 cup sugar

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1/2 cup vinegar (I usually use ACV, but others work, also)

1/2 cup salad oil.

You whisk this all together, until the salt and sugar are fully dissolved, meaning: You can no longer see any of the little grains of salt/sugar!

Pour this into the bowl and stir gently to coat and mix the beans, et al. If you are zipper bagging it, pour into the bag, press most of the air out, then gently squish/manipulate the beans into the sauce (do not squish the beans, just the marinade), and vice versa. Now, place the bowl/baggy into the refrigerator for 24 hours. Yes, this is a ‘takes awhile to let the tastes all marry’, but it really is worth it! Colorful, healthy and tasty as all get out. Who could ask for anything more?

Leave a Reply

